Swooning

Mr Chris thought it would be really nice if he were to purchase me/us a new cutting tool…..What could I say….as we walked around the Quilt Expo he saw the Alto’s QuiltCut2……He’s been eyeballing it for a while….meaning a couple of years now……so while I wasn’t looking/paying attention to him he decided to run back to the booth where they were demostrating it……If you buy the show model we’ll give you a discount…..he was hooked, anything to save a little bit of money…..

So what should we cut first……okay smarty pants lets try this new cutter to make a Swoon Quilt…….I had a fat quarter pack of Legacy Fabric that he bought me for Easter a couple of years ago ……(it was in a basket, better then me eating candy)…..The Swoon Quilt is 80″ square and takes 18 fat quarters plus like 4 – 1/2 yards of background fabric…..each block is 24″ …….. So in a couple of hours more like three we cut all the fabric to make the Swoon Quilt……..So last week I started sewing the blocks together….First one done…..second one done……a why is this one smaller…..I looked at the setting on my sewing machine….I went to set it for a 1/4″ seam but, never hit the icon to set it……OH HOW FRUSTRATING……

I think it’s about an inch off all around……..I was talking to my friend about what I did….she told me to make a pillow…..but, I need this fabric for the quilt….I’m going to have to rip it out….then she was talking about needing a quick quilt for a friend in a couple of weeks…I told her to make a giant Swoon…..if you double the block size…..so then I had my mind set on trying to create it……plus I was still fuming over the 1/4″ seam mistake….so instead of ripping out my mistake …… here is the giant/large swoon that I made with stash fabric……it’s 48″ square……it will make an nice baby quilt……she’s came over last night and we used that new fancy cutter and cut her fabric…….we decided to add a couple of border to hers for a nice lap size quilt

….until next time…..

Leave a comment

Filed under Quilts

Leave a Reply

