LeMoyne Star

The Traditional Block of the Month for July was the LeMoyne Star…….if you need instructions click on the link.. Piecing the LeMoyne Star Quilt ……..

I didn’t want to post the block until I could find templates for it………I search all over the internet for a 12″ LeMoyne block and I finally found what is called an Eight-Pointed Star on the Jenny Beyer web site ……she has instruction for creating an Eight-Pointed Star with  templates ……Yay!…..she even has them for smaller size blocks…..Instruction for Jenny’s block are here …the instructions up top are probably more helpful for a beginner………….here are a few tips that I found while constructing the block using the template method……..after tracing your template on the back side of your fabric cut out your  pieces……pair them up and sew on the drawn line only….(the seam allowances must be left free in order to set in seams)……after piecing your star…….pin your square pieces next……

I sew from the center out….. again making sure to not sew into the seams………..I found that if you make sure that you place your needle down in the seam where you first started ……  (does that make since)   ….. you avoid the dreaded puckers  that you will get if you don’t get the needle in the hole of your last seam………….

……….the instruction tell you to piece all of your squares first and then add the triangles in the same method…….

I sewed mine in halves then sewed the halves together before adding the last two triangles…..it worked

The modern version that I choose for this is block is called a bordered star…… It’s fantastic! I think…..the inspiration for this block came from the blog  Six White Horses she called it the Lone Starburst…… she has a friend who then wanted to draft it for her in a larger 12″ version……she blogs at The Quilting Climber ……..the pattern that I used can be found here ………as you can tell by the picture it came out 1 inch smaller …….lots of time there is a mark on the pattern for 1 inch……. be sure that it measures an inch or your block won’t come out the right size and you’ll have to do what I’m going to do……..and a piece of fabric to bring it up to a 12″ block……I’m going to refer you to paper piecing techniques at the Moda web site……this pattern led me into my August block Grandmother Fan……….Hopefully I can get that post up soon……

It’s been real busy around my house with Faye going to Kindergarten……she’s doing really well……they’ve been testing her and I think they are going to promote her into 1st grade……if only I could keep her from talking too much……she tells me that she has a lot in her brain that needs to come out….so she has to talk or she’ll blow up….LOL….

until next time

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

