A Quilt for Carol

I’ve been working on this quilt for my sister ………They are shirts that her husband wore…..he passed away 3 years ago this coming July……… 

I know this looks a little funny because the back of the quilt is peeking out from the front……I wanted to see if I had enough extra fabric for the back, so I could load it on my longarm…..Nope it wasn’t enough, so I’ll sew muslin on the edge to increase it to the size I need ………The pattern wants you to sew all the backs of the shirts together to make the backing of the quilt but, I wanted to create something on the back ……. I decided to start cutting all the rest of the fabric into 6 1/2″ strips………I wanted to give it some randomness ….then I thought how about adding a J to the back since they came from Jay’s shirts….so I made this back….   I asked the guy’s if they could see the J and they said “NO” so I pointed it out to them…..they kept telling me they didn’t see it……..so I ripped it apart and used the red fabric to make the J …..NOW do you see it……(That’s Fluffy next to it, she thought she should lay right in the middle of it) 

Yup, that worked….they could see it….. and so did I …..it’s so much better……..I’ve since started quilting it and posted a pic to Facebook for my Sis to see it and you know what she said “wow Kristi I am so humbled, it is the nicest thing any one has ever done for us.  It looks “great” and I can’t wait to wrap myself up in it”  – now that’s what I’m talking about….this is exactly the statement you want to here when you make a quilt for someone…….It just makes me feel good!

………until next time…….

 

Leave a comment

Filed under family, Quilts

Leave a Reply

