Double Nine Patch – 12″ Traditional – Modern

I’m getting ready for month two of “my version” for the  Block of the Month at our meeting with the Tucson Modern Quilt  Guild…….This month is a Double Nine Patch……I searched the internet for a 12″ block with no success so I thought I’d create a tutorial….. This is a beginners  block that can be created very easily with strip piecing……you can use any size strip…..of course I made my block scrappy so…..it’s a little more work/complicated but, not really, you just have to put your thinking cap on……here’s a picture of my work using my thinking cap ……

LOL …….I really got my thinking cap on this time and created a PDF for both of these blocks….so if ya want the instructions click on the links

Double Nine Patch 12 inch Block

Modern WONKY Double Nine Patch 12 inch Block

I just went to  the Oh Fransson blog and she has a very similar tutorial for the shuffle method that  I was describing it’s on her crazy nine patch quilt tutorial…..I can see how this may be a better method for the shuffle……. so you keep your fabrics in order…….

and the bit about making it a little more  “wonky” ……Well, I stumbled upon a tutorial at the Cluck Cluck Sew blog from Kersten who blogs at Frozen Knickers …….she made a really cool quilt using her template…… so I thought why not try to make this one just a little more wonky…..thanks Kersten for the inspiration…….I have some squares left over from my 

Jay McCarroll quilt challenge that I think will be perfect for this technique!

Well I hope you like my tutorials….I’ve been having fun creating them……I really should have someone test these besides me but…..if ya decide to make one of these and  find any mistakes let me know…..

until next time

1 Comment

Filed under BOM, Quilt Along

One response to “Double Nine Patch – 12″ Traditional – Modern

  1. Love your wonky blocks, and the tutorial is easy to follow. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

