Well, Hello There!

How the HECK is everybody…….I have to tell ya it’s been a bummer health wise over at my place so far this year……. I’ve had the sore throat, hacking, stuffy head can’t get no relief kind of thing going on…..I’ve had this crud since Christmas…..It’s the thing that keeps on giving……I’m so over it but, I’m happy to say that I think I have finally kicked it and it’s starting to go away…..almost…..Let’s hope so……It’s time to get going with the new year!….

In the mean time our last December meeting with the  Tucson Modern Quilt Guild …….we selected new officers and some how I managed to be elected Block of the Month person……..I was thinking how to go about this new position……. So right before our January meeting I got an email wanting to know what block I would be presenting….did I have one planned out……So not shunning my duties I said Yup….I had a idea of what I wanted to do but, I was struggling with which way to take this new duty of mine…….so after a couple of emails it was decided to go ahead with beginning quilting…….so I choose the Rail Fence block……….Now what….. I took to the internet and did a google search …….I want to give them a pattern each month and to show them what a quilt would look like made with the block………..if it’s technical a demo perhaps……..and if the group wants to follow along and make said block of the month in the end they will have a sampler quilt……..I love samplers quilts…..but, I don’t have one, do you?……..so…….here’s my Block 1

……..I’ve decided to make my sampler with a  30’s fabric theme…….

after I pieced this together I thought how could I make this Modern …….we are after all the Tucson Modern Quilt Guild…….I figured if we are going to make one traditional we may as well make one in a modern series as well….. well here’s the result……

……..I stacked up all the fabric that I was going to used and cut it at a wonky diagonal and mixed up the fabric….I did a demo on how to achieve this block

and you know what the crew liked it…..hmm….. now I have to come up with next months block……

……..until next time……

Leave a comment

Filed under BOM, Quilt Along

Leave a Reply

