Jay McCarroll Habitat Challenge

At the July meeting of the Tucson Modern Quilt guild we received fabric for a quilt challenge……..It was from Jay McCarroll’s Habitat fabric line……..The only rule was that we could add one solid fabric……As you can see I chose a purple/plum color……..While on the MN Shop Hop I found this great little tool called the “Lil Twister Ruler”………..I thought it would be perfect for this challenge………

(sorry for such a bad picture but, I got a new phone with a camera and left the plastic covering up the lenses…..and this was the only shot I got of the lay out) The idea is to lay the fabric out in a pleasing manner…….which I thought was I did……

then you line the ruler up on the black lines of the ruler which are the seems of the quilt top and carefully cut around the ruler……..and piece them back together…….

…….when your finished you end up with a swiss cheese looking thing…….

….these are about 2-1/2″ blocks which I plan to use if I can come up with a pleasing design for them……..hear is the finished product………

…..I think I really over thought what I was going for in the design layout…….and I’m not really happy with the look of it at all……not enough contrast….. it just really looks like a jumbled up mess…….thoughts any one?……….

……..until next time…….

Leave a comment

Filed under Quilts

Leave a Reply

