Quilting & Chica Update

I really got a lot done this passed weekend…..After cleaning the house which I have neglected for about two weeks……I started cutting my fabric from this  new-quilt-project material ……it was a really time consuming effort….I got lost quite a few times hopping from one fabric to the next…..but I needed it to be done……. so I could have my dining room table back….. After I had it all cut I started putting the blocks together on one of my cutting mats d-quilt-1 I think I stayed up until midnight before I finally gave up……I started making to many mistakes…….So on Sunday morning after a couple cup of coffee,  putting a roast in the crock pot and being that the house was nice and tidy……. I ditched into the sewing room and started sewing………d-quilt………I got all twelve of the block sewn together……….it went pretty fast since I didn’t have to many seem to worry about…….. I only had to unsew a few times when I got the blocks turned around, some how…..

During the week  while I’m watching TV …….I really like to watch American Idol…….. I started a new technique (for me that is) with my hand applique……balitmore-bbfront ……This technique is called back basting…….You mark your design on the back of the fabric…….. and cut your desired fabric to cover the design……next you then sew the fabric in place on the drawn line with a basting stitch balitmore-bb…….on the front side you trim the fabric 1/4 inch and sew it down doing needle turn applique……as you can tell I’m really bad with this technique……But, I had to give it a go…hopefully I’ll improve with every stitch……..

chica-bed …….Here’s a little Chica update…..isn’t she sweet sleeping in the bed Chris bought her,  he paid $2.49 for it…..I hope the cats will enjoy it when she is two big for it……..So were still learning with her…… I think we finally say that all the ticks are off of her………and she is starting to smell better…….I didn’t want to bath her too much so she has had only one per week……… but, all her sores are starting to heel and her ears are really looking clean…..we are still trying to help he get her balance…… I don’t know if it’s because of her lack of site that she doesn’t use her back legs as much, her front legs are really strong….I kind of hold her steady when she eats because, she smashes her face into her food………at least when I hold her steady she doesn’t shake/bob as much…..she is my little baby……..until next time…….

437fddf551c145c9966f4519d0fce458

1 Comment

Filed under family

One response to “Quilting & Chica Update

  1. Laurel, Maine fishwife

    Kristi,

    Go here:

    http://www.amazingaussies.com/index.htm

    It is the home page of:
    Amazing Aussies Lethal White Rescue
    PO Box 31245
    Mesa, Arizona 85275

    That little pup of yours is so precious. I would think voice commands would be a priortiy so you can stop him if he is about to walk off the edge of something.

    When you get to that rescue site, you might want to skip the “In Memory of” page. I found that page first and just about drowned in tears reading all the memorials. I am such a sap when it comes to animals dying.

    Oh and nice job on the quilts!

    Laurel, Maine fishwife

Leave a Reply

