Weekend Projects – Baby Blankets!!

chelsea-blanket.jpg

Here is the baby blanket that I was going to tie. I tried the machine satin stitch that I saw in the Patchwork and Quilted Gifts book. I really like the way that it turned out. It was super easy and really fast. It helped that I already had it sewn together. I am going to use this method again. Unlike the next baby blanket that I’m going to show you. 

So far I have kept track of the time spent/gas used for shopping for the fabric, dollar amount spent, and time on the preparation of it.  I think I may be surprised at the out come of it all. I’ll share more as I progress. Here are a couple of pictures. The first picture is the pattern ironed on to the reverse side of the fabric, the next one is all the pieces cut out and ready for the next step.  All of this process has taken about 5 hours.   baby-blanket-1.jpg

baby-blanket-3.jpg

In between baby blankets I was working on my Baltimore Blues Block. I decided to use spray startch on this block. I haven’t started to stitch any of this on fabric yet. I hope that I will be able to make my circles round when I start stitching them down.  As you can tell from the picture I still have quite a few more circles to do.  But I think I have found a new way of trying it.  Hopefully it will work better. . . . Don’t you just love new techniques?

baltimore-blues-1.jpg

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

