Grandmothers Fan Quilt Block

 

The Block of the Month for August was the Grandmother’s Fan block……….with this block we are going to learn how to sew a curved seam……Sounds scary right……it’s actually not to bad………you can a find a link to a pattern for the block  here at Quilter’s Cache……..I used a different pattern for my block… so if your a guild member I’ll have a copy of my block  at the next meeting (Sept. 13th) ……..there is a slight difference in the patterns……..my block only has 5 blades and the block on quilters cache uses 8….. along with lace around the fan blades but, the piecing instruction are bascially the same……..My pointers for sewing curves would be to use lots of pins…….first your going to start by sewing your fan blades together…

……then were going to  find the center on both the fans and corner piece….at this time I just pinch the fabric to mark the center….in this picture I’m showing the bottom of the fan blade along with the corner piece…..okay so this is going to be harder to explain than I thought so, here is a GREAT article on Convex and Concave piecing they explain this better that I could ever imagine…..They do suggest that you hand sew your pieces I did mine on my sewing machine…..without any problems…….after you sew the bottom do the exact same thing to the top portion of the block

 

 I was extremely happy when I turned mine over and there were no puckers YAY!…….

The Modern Block that I choose was a pattern that I saw on Moda’s web site here’s the link 

It’s the center block that looks like the sun….this block is paper pieced and the pattern has great paper piecing instructions……..These are my all pratice sample blocks…….I did do a little alternate on this block…..I cut out the center of the block as one circle…….

 this fabric is a little on the thin side and you can see through it so I cut a second piece and spray basted the two together

center the circle template and use a little spray baste or a pin to hold it in place…….. thread a needle and baste stitch around the outer edege of the circle …….when finished pull the thread and form a circle with the fabric around the circle template…….when I was pleased with the shape I ironed it with a little startch………a few extra pictures would have been nice here but I hope you understand what I’m saying……..

after piecing the fan blades…..sew the four pieces together…….center the circle……..oh and don’t forget to take the paper out of the center of your circle before you sew it  onto  your fan blades …….I bet you can guess why I told you that…..yup….. I sewed a decorative stitch around mine with the paper still in it….well there you have it

………..until next time……..

Leave a comment

Filed under BOM, Quilt Along

Leave a Reply

